Chart Codes

IU's Chart of Accounts is organized into two kinds of chart codes:

  • Campus-level charts (including University Administration), and
  • Auxiliary charts.

Each campus has a unique chart. In addition, there are subsidiary charts on the Bloomington and Indianapolis charts to separate the activity of some auxiliary units. University Administration, which includes organizations that serve all IU campuses, also has a unique chart.

All charts report up to a top level chart that exists only for reporting purposes.

The hierarchy of the charts is as follows:

  • Indiana University (IU)
    • Bloomington (BL)
      • Bloomington Auxiliaries (BA)
    • East (EA)
    • Fort Wayne (FW)
    • Indianapolis (IN)
      • Indianapolis Auxiliaries (IA)
    • Kokomo (KO)
    • Northwest (NW)
    • South Bend (SB)
    • Southeast (SE)
    • University Administration (UA)

The following is a graphical representation of the chart hierarchy (click the image to enlarge):

graphical representation of the chart code hierarchy

Note: Accounting related to medical school units on the FW campus are managed by the IN chart.

Specific individuals are responsible for all activity on each chart. These individuals are called Chart Managers. The current chart managers are listed in the following table.

Chart

Chart Manager

Email

 BA  Julie Bauters  jbauters@indiana.edu
 BL  Chris Puckett  puckett@iu.edu
 EA  Dan Dooley  dadooley@iue.edu
 IA  Camy Broeker  cbroeker@iupui.edu
 IN  Kevin Walsh  kcwalsh@iupui.edu
 IU  Bill Overman  woverman@iu.edu
 KO  Jared Hayman  jahayman@iuk.edu
 NW  Michelle Dickerson  mtdicker@iun.edu
 SB  Kathleen Pizaña  kpizana@iusb.edu
 SE  Dana Wavle  dwavle@ius.edu
 UA  Anna Jensen  anjensen@iu.edu